Usage calculations and reporting
Your account's current usage is shown on the Dashboard tab of your account's management console.
Depending on which Cloudinary products you use, you may also see the usage shown in a toolbar at the top of the page, and in your account settings page. The Dashboard shows usage graphs for each metric that counts towards your account's usage.
For example, when using our Programmable Media product, there are graphs available to see your Storage, Bandwidth and Transformations usage, and it's possible to export the details in CSV format for further analysis or reporting.
To help you understand what actions and activity count towards your usage, the How does Cloudinary count my plan's quotas and what does every quota mean? article contains more information about how usage is calculated, and our Plans and Pricing page shows the details of our current paid plans.
API access to usage information
For our Programmable Media product, there's an Admin API method that returns the current usage information, which you can use to create your own custom reporting, alerts, or to automate actions for your team or application: https://cloudinary.com/documentation/admin_api#usage
For our Media Optimizer product, there's a corresponding method: https://cloudinary.com/documentation/media_optimizer_api#usage
Exceeding the usage limits of your plan
All of our plan limits are 'soft' limits and your account remains active if you exceed your limits, and we do not block requests for assets in your account right away if the usage exceeds 100% of your plan. Because of this, assets used in website or application will continue to load, and your access to manage assets via the API, Media Library, or widgets will not be affected.
When an account's usage approaches 100% of the quota, we'll start to show notices about the usage in the management console and we'll send notification emails to the admins of your account, and to the 'billing email' you've configured, if applicable.
Because your current usage is based on the last 30 days of activity you may find that if your usage is close to 100%, it will drop naturally based on the of the rise and fall in your usage in the last 30 days.
It's often possible to reduce your usage quickly by using your account's reports to identify original assets being requested and replacing the URLs in your website or application with URLs that use Cloudinary's Image Optimization or Video Optimization features.
Options when usage limits are exceeded
Most Cloudinary plans have fixed limits, and if you exceed 100% of the limit you'll be asked to either upgrade to a plan sufficient for your current usage, or reduce that usage. For customers on our self-service plans, your account settings page will show other plans that may be suitable for you, and the corresponding costs and usage limits.
If you're not sure which plans may be suitable for your usage or if the recent high usage is not typical for you, please contact our support team with the details and we'll see what other options may be available for you. Cloudinary's monthly self-service plans do not have any long-term commitments so you can switch to a smaller or larger plan periodically as your usage changes, provided that if you're downgrading, your account's current usage is within the quota of the plan you're switching to.
If your usage remains above 100% of your plan's quota, your account may be automatically disabled after further notifications are sent. If your account becomes disabled, updates to your account's assets will be blocked, including the creation of new derived (transformed) assets. Delivery of your existing assets may continue after your account is disabled, but if your account remains disabled, asset delivery will also be blocked after some time.
Pay as you go plans
Some Cloudinary plans, including many of our enterprise plans, and the Scale plan for our Media Optimizer product, are "Pay as you go" plans.
On those plans, your account's "current" usage will rise and fall based on the last 30 days of activity as normal, and if on your account's billing date the usage is above 100% of the quota, we'll charge you for the additional usage at the overage rate of your plan.